Ophthalmological Society of West Bengal was founded in 1942 with Lt Col E.O.G.Kirwan C.I.E as its first President.The initial years saw the Society working from the Office of the Head of Department of Ophthalmology at Medical College and Hospitals, Kolkata.It later shifted to the 2nd Floor of 94 Chittaranjan Avenue , Kolkata 700012 .The Society now has its own office in the Journal of Indian Medical Association (JIMA) building Room no. 8 at 53 Creek Row, Kolkata 700014 from where it functions. On 1st July 2009 additional 600 sq feet office space was acquired for the Society. It is in the ground floor of the same building. The activities of the Society centers around professional interests of Ophthalmologists related to the state of West Bengal in India. The Society organizes periodical CME meets for academic improvement of its members, fellowship meetings and also competitive sessions in Ophthalmology in various categories. It awards prizes, medals fellowship and travel grants to deserving members and has a community ophthalmology wing which is involved in creating public awareness in key ophthalmological issues. The Society also safeguards the professional and legal interests of its members besides looking after the ethical practice of the profession. The Society organizes annual orations and an annual Conference for its members. The list of Past Presidents and some of the Secretaries based on Notice Board of OSWB office are :

List of the Executive Members 2017 – 2018

Sno Designation Name Email & Mobile No
1 President Dr. Ashim Kumar Dey [email protected], 9433203216
2 President Elect Dr. Parag Mukhopadhyay [email protected], 9830272927
3 Vice – President Dr. Puspita Sahu [email protected], 9831322474
4 Hony. Secretary Dr. Subhasish Nag [email protected], 9831089730
5 Jt. Secretary Dr. Aniruddha Maiti [email protected], 9836552140
6 Jt. Secretary Dr. Siddhartha Ghosh [email protected], 9433055288
7 Hony. Treasurer Dr Debashis Das [email protected], 9830157081
8 Jt. Treasurer Dr. Arnav Mitra [email protected], 9002021542
9 Chairman Sc Comm Dr. Ajoy Paul [email protected], 9830030397
10 Editor Journal Dr. Chandana Chakraborti [email protected], 9830158243
11 Member Dr. Indranil Bhattacharyya [email protected], 9830750557
12 Member Dr. Kakali Sen [email protected], 9830365871
13 Member Dr. Kanchan Kumar Mondal [email protected], 9433098638
14 Member Dr. Rudra Kishore Deb [email protected], 9434326393
15 Member Dr. Rupak Kanti Biswas [email protected], 9831808204
16 Member Dr. Satyam Kumar Maiti [email protected], 9434707752
17 Member Dr. Sekhar Nath Sarkar [email protected], 9434024453
18 Member Dr. Suchanda Sar [email protected], 9830213035
19 Member Dr. Sugato Paul [email protected], 9674487301
20 Member Dr. Sunil Surana [email protected], 9433706950
21 Member Dr. Supratik Bandyopadhyay [email protected], 9434377761
22 Member Dr. Tathagata De [email protected], 9434017269
23 Imm. Past President Dr. Pradeep Kumar Bakshi. [email protected], 9830062634
24 Imm. Past Hony. Secretary Dr. Ratish Ch. Paul [email protected], 9830333451